Turn Emotions Into Creativity…

Feeling down?  Upset?  Emotional?  Good, you’re in the perfect place to make something amazing.

Everyone goes through tough emotional times.  Quite often they are pretty miserable and seem endless, not to mention pointless.  Strangely, when I find myself down or depressed this is when I create some of my best stuff.

Being a chronic optimist, I like to think of trying times as being a kind of defibrillator for creativity.  Emotional pain can be seen as a boost of emotional activity in your body.  All that extra emotional energy surging in your body needs a release, otherwise it will eat away at you.  If you can force yourself to sit down and get to work with something artistic you can produce things you would never conceive when your logical brain is in the driving seat.  I also find the process must primarily involve the emotional side of the brain – trying to solve physics problems or debug programming code seems to require too much logic to be of use.  But, maybe I’m just not good enough at those things!

Rougher brush strokes, abrasive sounds, gorgeous chord progressions, delicate textures – these are the things that emotional energy creates best.  It’s great to think that you can distill some of how you feel into a piece of art that means something to you.  Here’s one I made earlier…

www.darzhliebek.com

So, next time you’re in an emotional whirlwind, dont mope around feeling sorry for yourself.  Get out your paintbrushes, pencils and synthesizers and use them to whip up a creative hurricane.  Feel free to send us something you’ve made during those turbulent times 🙂

, , , ,

  1. #1 by learning2live2010 on February 10, 2010 - 9:39 pm

    I’m with you on this… some of the best songs I’ve written came from times when I felt I was suffering the most. Just recently, though, when I was going through rough times I had a really hard time sitting down and writing anything. Well, I journalled a lot, but it was hard for me to write any music. Nothing would come out. I’m writing again though, and my sound is different than before… so that’s sort of cool.

    • #2 by lostinmusik on February 14, 2010 - 10:18 pm

      cheers good to hear your enjoying it nancy… let us know of any relavant posts and we’ll give them a mention on here too ;p

  2. #3 by raw pagan on April 17, 2016 - 8:13 pm

    I agree. I always turn to either music, writing or painting when down or experiencing dark emotions. I am thinking of using this topic as my project/workshop theme which I need to do for my final year in psychotherapy training

Leave a Reply

