Soundcloud Featured Artist: Fares Hamzaoui

We have a Soundcloud group for Lost In Musik to which up and coming producers can submit their music (see the link on the left panel).  Every few weeks we have a scan through for something that impresses us and do a feature on that artist – although it’s been quite some time since our last feature.

This week the work of Fares Hamzaoui (aka Feres and Kawa) caught our eye/ears.  A producer hailing from Canada, he’s crafted some fine pieces of deep, progressive house.  A great combination of groove and melodies, his productions have a touch of class that so often lacks in a lot of current music.  He mentions that he is a fan of Danny Howells, and I can certainly see Danny Howells playing some of the great tracks he has been producing.   We caught up with Fares and asked him a few questions…

Where are you currently living?
Currently, I live in Canada. I study in Trois-Rivières and party in Montréal🙂

What originally got you into house music?
A compilation that my cousin had brought from France : Jef K – My House Vol 3.  I was 17 at that time. I bought the whole series.

What’s the best night out you’ve ever had?
A gig with Rachael Starr in Tunisia in OASIS Club : A crazy night in a crazy place.

What’s your favourite bit of kit?
I don’t really use hardware, I only use plug-ins.
I really like the new APC40 controller from Akai, it gives a new sensation in production.

Favourite track of the moment?
Hector Couto – 1993 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O0dLw3SyAlw)

Favourite producer?
Danny Howells.  I really like the atmosphere of his compositions.  I also had the chance to do his warm-up in the Oasis Club in Tunisia. He’s a very nice guy.

If you could DJ/hear your track anywhere in the world, where would it be?
There are so many places that attract me. If I had to choose, it would be Los Angeles and Miami.

So there’s proof that you dont need a load of outboard gear to make great music – although hardware sure does look pretty and get the creative juices flowing!  It was honestly really hard to pick a track to put on the blog, but we’ve gone with “Al Bahr” produced under his Feres moniker.  It reminds me of some great tracks off the old Renaissance CDs from Dave Seaman, Danny Howells and Hernan Cattaneo.  A perfect blend of groove, melody and progression.  Watch out for this guy on future compilations.

Feres – Al Bahr (Original Mix)

Fares Hamzaoui’s Soundcloud Page

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

